What Houston High School Did You Attend

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Humble High School Wildcat....had a great experience there, it was a great mix of all walks of life when I was there with excellent teachers and coaches. Apparently it has gone down hill quite a bit since I graduated in 2000. Greatschools has it rated as a 3 now, lower than Aldine <_<

Klein Oak

Wife went to Klein Oak, what year??

2001 grad

The wife graduated in 2000. Her sister went there too and graduated one or two years later...so you could have known either one if you hung out with any older or younger kids...

For the 10th and 11th grades, I went to Austin High. At the beginning of my senior year, my parents moved from the East End to Bellaire and I was in the very first graduating class at the brand-new Bellaire High. Talk about culture shock! Most of the kids had transferred to Bellaire from Lamar and San Jacinto high schools, where academic and social standards were higher than at my old school.

There were about a hundred kids in that first graduating class. When our 50th class reunion rolled around, the powers-that-be simply invited all graduating classes for the first 4 years of the school's existence together for a low-key affair. There was no separate celebration for the Class of '56, no recognition in any publication, NOTHING! It was like we never existed. I was so PO'd that I didn't even consider attending. Others with whom I spoke felt the same way.

GW Carver High School for Applied Technology, Engineering, and the Arts in NW Houston

NW houston---thats acres (shakers) homes...

I went to "OLD colored High" ...Booker T.Washington (the engineering Program)

Seriously, look up the history..the school was built w/o a front door so the garden oaks community or any whites wouldn't see the blacks out front as they traveled Yale.

Edited by sowanome

NW houston---thats acres (shakers) homes...