Pickup driver killed in crash with METRORail

It appears that the driver was at fault in this case (as was the case in all but one of the previous 47,635 METRORail collisions), but that doesn't make me feel any better.

I am a transit professional who supports an expanded rail system in Houston. But this is what happens when you build a train at street level in a city that is home to some of the nation's worst drivers.

I had hoped that there would be a learning curve associated with this thing as drivers learned how to co-exist with the train, and it is true that the number of accidents began to decrease (from a high of 11 in March 2004, for example) as adjustments were made. But it's become clear that, as long as this thing continues to operate in its current configuration, it's going to continue to smack in to drivers who run red lights or ignore "no left turn" signs on a regular basis. And I really don't know if there's anything practical that can be done about it. Put crossing gates at every intersection along the line? Replace the existing rolling stock with smaller streetcars capable of stopping quicker and operating in line-of-sight conditions?

Houston's rail line is the laughingstock of the nation and rail opponents both local and nationwide are having a field day with it. I am very frustrated.

:angry:

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Pickup driver killed in crash with METRORail

It appears that the driver was at fault in this case (as was the case in all but one of the previous 47,635 METRORail collisions), but that doesn't make me feel any better.

I am a former METRO employee. I am a supporter of an expanded rail system in Houston. But this is what happens when you build a train at street level in a city that is home to the nation's worst drivers.