Wine

bachanon

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Any oenophiles out there? What Houston area establishment has the best wine list?

Hmmmmm, there is a few that could actually tie here. Capital Grille, and Rainbow Lodge for starters. Might have to recommend Vic and Anthony's. Believe it or not, The Mercury Room also.

Rainbow Lodge had a strong wine list, but the service was that of a Chili's. Benjy's however, had a good list as well as a menu & service to match.

(I say the above about both in the past tense as its been about 3 years since going to either. Funny how a little kid will do that to you!)

Brennan's of Houston has an amazing wine list as well. They have a specialty wine dinner, where you set the price point and they serve 6 courses with 8 wines. (minimum 4 people)

http://www.brennanshouston.com/wine_dinner.htm

I'm no expert but I was certainly impressed with the wine list at Mark's. The sommelier was top notch as well and really added to the atmosphere. It's currently my best dining experience in Houston. But it did cost a fortune so there you go.

While the topic is up... Anyone have an opinion about Malbecs in general? Over the last few years these wines out of Argentina have become my favorite. A few years ago I could only find 2 or 3 labels in houston but now they seem to be everywhere. Any favorites?

• 2 months later...

I have a bottle of something, can't make it out. Its from 1796 (30 years after the consitution was signed). It's in Spanish. Was thinking about selling it on eBay, but my grandfather gave it to me and recently passed away, so I found it sentimental.

The best wine list in Houston is Ibiza. It's always changing. It's long and very esoteric, but not to the point that it's confusing. There is something for everyone!