Making Houston Affordable (Again)

lockmat

Firstly, I borrowed the topic name from Erin Mulvaney in her tweet: (https://twitter.com/erinmulvaney/status/547444864283983874)

Is Houston no longer affordable? When you're finding ways to make it so, it seems that is indeed the case.

So how can we make it affordable again? In the link below, Cite gives nine ways. My take: you can't.

Does a BIG DENSE first world affordable city exist? I'm no urbanist expert, but I'd be willing to bet no.

The only way I can think of creating an affordable city is by creating a new one with a urban grid and only allow multifamily dwellings with height restrictions and no parking garages. Houston needs a Fort Worth (30-40 miles away) that fits this description.

http://offcite.org/2014/12/19/nine-ways-to-make-houston-affordable-again

Edited by lockmat

Firstly, I borrowed the topic name from Erin Mulvaney in her tweet: (https://twitter.com/erinmulvaney/status/547444864283983874)

Is Houston no longer affordable? When you're finding ways to make it so, it seems that is indeed the case.

So how can we make it affordable again? In the link below, Cite gives nine ways. My take: you can't.

Does a BIG DENSE first world affordable city exist? I'm no urbanist expert, but I'd be willing to bet no.

The only way I can think of creating an affordable city is by creating a new one with a urban grid and only allow multifamily dwellings with height restrictions and no parking garages. Houston needs a Fort Worth (30-40 miles away) that fits this description.

http://offcite.org/2014/12/19/nine-ways-to-make-houston-affordable-again