Rice University Marching Owl Band

lockmat

http://blog.kir.com/archives/2007/11/todd_grahams_in.asp

Well, as predicted in my post at the time of Graham's job change, it was just a matter of time before Rice's notorious Marching Owl Band ("the MOB) would have an opportunity to comment on Coach Graham's antics, and that opportunity presented itself this past Saturday during halftime of the Rice-Tulsa game at Rice Stadium.

Childish for sure, but nothing out of the ordinary for the MOB. And it was certainly not even as clever as the MOB's theme for their halftime show during Rice's bowl game against Troy last year...(punch line inside the link)

I'd love to hear more stories from Rice grads or fans. It's so funny to hear of such a thing going on a place like Rice.

I used to think the MOB was funny.

Then I graduated high school.

Did you go to aTm? I know the band is serious business there.

My favorite MOB story is when they played "Oh where, oh where, has my little dog gone?" after one of the Revelies(sp?) died... But Dante's Inferno as a basis for a halftime show is pretty good!

I was in the MOB from 1980 to 1983 and was the Drum Major in 1983. I was the Drum Minor (really!) the year before that and was the first marching electric bass player in the SWC.

Highlights of MOB life: The famous A&M show, which happened in 1975, was still a fairly recent memory. Specifically, the MOB had made fun of the then-recently deceased A&M canine mascot, Reveille. There was a very phallic fire hydrant formation on the field, the band played "Where oh where has my little dog gone?" and show assistants wandered around with those invisible dog leash-things. Angry Aggies trapped the MOB in the tunnel of Rice Stadium and they were evacuated in campus food service vans.