Foley's Department Store Warehouse Complex At 2103 Ernestine St.

As an East End resident, I'm wondering what will happen to the huge Foley's warehouse complex when Foley's is eradicated from Houston later this year. Will Macy's use it as a distribution center, or will it be sold? There's a lot of acreage involved, and with such a lack of decent shopping in midtown and adjacent neighborhoods it would seem to be a good location for large-scale retail development. Those of us who live nearby just hope that if it is redeveloped it won't be cheaply-built townhomes or apartments.

As an East End resident, I'm wondering what will happen to the huge Foley's warehouse complex when Foley's is eradicated from Houston later this year. Will Macy's use it as a distribution center, or will it be sold? There's a lot of acreage involved, and with such a lack of decent shopping in midtown and adjacent neighborhoods it would seem to be a good location for large-scale retail development. Those of us who live nearby just hope that if it is redeveloped it won't be cheaply-built townhomes or apartments.

Well if Macy's decides to sell; UH might be interested.

• 3 weeks later...

Good luck with that shopping center idea, but it is highly improbable. Since it's located off of Lockwood, which is where Spur 5 branches off to the south of the Gulf Frwy., access can be difficult from some directions if people don't already know exactly where they're going.

More importantly, though, there aren't enough high-income households within a 1-, 3-, or 5-mile radius to justify building a large center that will then have to compete with Gulfgate and its neighbors, all of which have superior locations and accessibility.

If it is redeveloped, a big IF, I'd be more willing to bet that apartment housing oriented toward students and perhaps a supporting strip center would be more likely. But even that is improbable in my view.