Pay Too Much For Your House? Sue The Realtor!

flipper

My first thought was "what next????". But in reality, it doesn't surprise me. People are always looking for someone to blame. As a Realtor, I can only hope that the buyers lose and a precedent is set. The buyers had to be aware of the market conditions where they were buying. And if they weren't, then shame on them, because the rest of the country knew that prices were out of control there.

Former clients of mine are in a lawsuit over a transaction that fell apart. They have spent many times more in legal fees than what was at stake in the first place. Greed will make people do crazy things.

Hmmm....this website suggests that Realtors are professionals who keep you from making mistakes such as paying too much for a home.

http://www.realtor.com/basics/allabout/rea...asp?poe=realtor

Seems to me, that if this is not the case, then websites like this are not being honest in their claims.

I wonder who is correct...the defendant Realtor or the website?

An important point here is captured by the following quote:

"Ummel claims that the agent hid the information that similar homes in the neighborhood were selling for less because he feared she would back out and he would lose his $30,000 commission."

Normally you don't sue when it happens the other way (your house appreciates) because I doubt someone (buyer's Realtor) would hide the information if they were selling for more.

The following is a good counter-point:

"He will argue that Marty Ummel, who brought the case with her husband, Vernon, is trying to shift the blame for the couple's own failures of research and due diligence."

Overall, I would say that it is your duty to do own research when investing or buying real estate. Cases where fraud is committed that your research can't uncover would justify a lawsuit and other action.