The Shade House Condos - The Heights

An interesting take on the townhome. I can't say this is my favorite design but I like that it is different and that they incorporated green elements.

copy of article online:

http://www.dwell.com/homes/green/10016251.html

the har listing for 730 Tulane:

http://search.har.com/engine/dispsearch.cf...p;mlnum=3436645

DW1107_GRID_02.jpg

I visited the open house a few weeks ago. The place is pretty neat, it sort of has the feeling of houses in Venice Beach, CA as far as the style goes. And it's always great to see people considering Green design.

I really like the look but I think it's priced too high too. As a longtime Heights resident, I am baffled by the recent influx of way out of scale projects coming along. Within a mile of my home, I can point out at least six new houses/townhouses priced $400K+ that have been sitting empty for over a year. These are built in neighborhoods where the original cottages top out at $250K. A couple streets here (most noticeably the 1200-1300 block of Prince) are becoming concrete canyons like those in West End. Sad.

As a Heights residence, the consciousness to the components of which this development is comprised: environment, material utilization and community is truly welcomed and appreciated.

Shade House Development

Welcome to the group, Overstan, and I think your comment would probably be shared by many Heights residents because of the perception that this kind of construction, although not in harmony with the historic architecture, is planet loving and not simply profit loving.

It's that vaque idea of selfish developers building architecturally uncaring, inferior products that gets the NIMBY blood boiling.