Personal Interest

Lowbrow

I am curious as too some of your backgrounds. Why does this board interest you? What are your main interests that run parallel to the discussions of this board?

My own story:

I have a background in Construction and Architectural Drafting from my youth. I went to school for earth sciences and got a few degrees from different schools and call myself a petrophysicist. Architecture is now a hobby of mine. Being a scientist I am all about Function and spend alot of my time trying to catch up on the Form side of things (photography, travel, reading sites like this). I also enjoy the topics of self-reliant, earth-friendly, sustainable living and how that is impacted by design, urban cephalization, transport, and alternative energies.

ps. I found this site when I was researching that Frank Lloyd Wright home here in Houston and came across a post of ssullivan's talking about just that.

My personal interest is on different levels.

As a youth, I have always been infatuated with Houston (I grew up here) and the infrastructure that it needs to support such a population.

On another level, I like to see how the heartbeat of the city keeps adjusting to the seasons and personalities as they moved in from the north.

Also, I like keeping up on what's going on around town, as a PA (and now Taxi driver until business picks up) I always have a need to have information on what's going around town to tell clients/visitors for suggestions on what to do and where to go.

Ricco

Like some others here, I've been fascinated by architecture since I was a kid. My favorite toy was a "K'nex" kits where you build your own miniature skyscrapers. Unfortunately, I have no formal training in it (degrees in business). And of course I share the Houston infatuation even though I wasn't born here, especially about the way the city has changed so much.

Mancuso, what is involved in futures studies?