University of Houston Tier One Status

I think so. Texas Monthly said UH is best positioned to do so, followed by Texas Tech. They said UH's location makes it a natural choice.

Our state only has two do to the funing structure, and for that, we should all feel ashamed.

I am hoping to make a Presidents Club level donation this year. That'll be the biggest so far for me.

Eat'em Up, Coogs!

If Texas wants to compete with California, then we need more Tier One Universities. And the UH is the perfect one to begin with. It would be an asset not only for the state, but for the city. Tier one would attract a lot of students from around the state and US as well as international and some of those bright people will stay in Houston. Its a win/win for the city and the companies here. Anyway even without Tier One funding, the UH is doing very well for itself. Third largest University in Texas in the biggest city in Texas. It has so much to offer to students and the city.

I'm not an expert on what it will take for UH to get Tier One, but one thing I think would be great is if they would build more on-campus housing and try to encourage more students to live on campus. I had a friend who went there, and I really felt there was something missing as far as the college experience was concerned, what with everyone going home at night. You have to get away from the world of home in order to experience the world of college. Before I get bashed by UH alums, I will just say that my mom went there, I had my high school graduation there, and so I have emotional ties to the place.

Another thing - having a big on campus population could help create more of a college neighborhood in the area, which would be a neat thing for Houston (look how cool Rice Village is). Maybe a Cougar Village?

I think so.  Texas Monthly said UH is best positioned to do so, followed by Texas Tech.  They said UH's location makes it a natural choice.