Permit for deck and pergola

I want to DIY build a small, simple at-grade deck and pergola in my front yard. The total material cost will probably be under $1,000. A house across the street built something similar, and I've been eyeing it for a couple years.

Since I assume I am going to need a permit, should I just give up? Will I have to hire an engineering firm to produce detailed plans? Will it take six months to get approved? I'm not looking forward to jumping through 10,000 hoops and spending the next year waiting for approval on something that will take me a weekend to complete.

Or is it pretty easy, and I just have to file some form that lets them increase my home appraisal for next year.

Decks with a base floor elevation under a certain height (I think it is 2 or 3 feet) do not need a permit. Structures with roofs usually do require permits, but if this is a small garden type structure not attached to the house, you can probably build it without a permit. I would not apply for one.

The deck floor will only be about 1 foot off the ground. The pergola will have 4 supports, and these will be on top of a poured concrete footing with brackets sticking out. The remaining footings will be simple "Dek Block" concrete blocks. Total size of the deck will be about 10x10 foot.

http://documents.pub...01_pp_final.pdf

Please note: Permits are NOT required for:

- Painting - Carpet - Tile - Wood Floors - Cabinets*

- Interior trim and similar finish work - Wood or metal fences less than 8 feet tall

- Uncovered detached decks under 30 inches

I imagine the need for approval on covered structures is so they can verify it can handle the wind load... I guess it comes down to the question of a pergola counting as a covered structure or not.

Or I could build it without the pergola now, and add it at some point in the future.