Bar Alternatives, Places to Study/Read

I think I want to go on a break from the Houston bar scene for a bit...

Does anyone have any suggestions of coffee shops that are open late on Friday/Saturday with free WiFi where its a good place to read or study a little? I don't want to give up complete socialization, but even being able to people watch a bit would be fun.

In fact, where are some good places to study in Houston. I know this seems lame, but I'm pretty new to Houston and having a tough time, and well, I've been spending too much time in bars - I need to refocus a bit...

Tea House on Wesheimer and Shepheard or Tropioca on Milam in midtown are cool places to study with free wifi and bubble tea!

I like Cafe Artiste near the Menil and UST campus as well... good coffee and free wifi.

Agora on Westheimer is open late (2am i think), and has wi-fi. Brasil (across Westheimer) is open late, too, and sometimes you can get Agora's signal there.

there's also Diedrich on Montrose near West Alabama, but i don't think they are open as late as the others.

Tea House on Wesheimer and Shepheard or Tropioca on Milam in midtown are cool places to study with free wifi and bubble tea!

I like Cafe Artiste near the Menil and UST campus as well... good coffee and free wifi.

Good call on Tropioca. Great coffee there. I also like the Vietnamese place next door.

• 1 month later...

The Bookstop (former Alabama Theater) upstairs is the small coffee area. Its very serene with a few other readers at hand.

I always liked sitting on a bench in front of City Hall at lunch. Try to sit away from the tree branches. The birds love to drop bombs over head. :D

• 8 months later...

Old thread; needs new blood!