Windows installation in brick wall

If I end up purchasing a home I am currently negotiating then one of our first priorities would be to get more natural light into living room by installing new windows. I was thinking a long and thin ones along the ceiling and/or one larger "regular one". I am complete newbie in home renovation and have been living in apartment for my whole life. So here are the questions:

1) How expensive it to install a new window - i am talking about installation and masonic word? I saw the prices in Home depot... Does the price include engineering surrvey?

2) Any design software or tool to help me plan where would be the best to put it esthetically or how much would it be to hire someone for that?

3) Any company recommendations? We are on a budget so don't want to pay arm and leg.

Thx!

1) How expensive it to install a new window - i am talking about installation and masonic word? I saw the prices in Home depot... Does the price include engineering surrvey?

home depot doesn't do engineering surveys. price can vary immensely just depending on what windows you choose. other factors would include how much framing needs to be done. with the thin windows you mention, i can see some type of structural work needed to shore up the header over the window. if the exterior is brick then you'd also need to hire a brickmason as well.

2) Any design software or tool to help me plan where would be the best to put it esthetically or how much would it be to hire someone for that?

aesthetics and where you actually need it may conflict. if you need light in a certain area, then put the window there. remember to think about where the sun is at different times. sometimes adding a window will also cause the room to be hotter.

3) Any company recommendations? We are on a budget so don't want to pay arm and leg.

Thx!

what type of budget are you talking?