July Mod of the Month open house

rps324

What a spectacular house! An indoor pool usually means some kind of an addition next to a house, enclosed with an aluminum framed building system. Not here. This pool is truly in the house and the house is beautifully designed to contain it. This is another hidden treasure of Houston. It seems to be in almost original condition so visiting it will be about as close as we can ever come to experiencing the excitement it must have generated in 1959 when it was toured by thousands of visitors on the Parade of Homes.

hr1940882-4.jpg

It looks like the fence was added later. I would think that the whole house would smell like chlorine if the pool was in use. That said, I really like the interior of the home.

The fence was added later. It would look a whole lot better with that removed. I guess you could have those new salt water systems installed that they use on pools now. I am not a pool expert so I have no idea what would be involved with that.

• 2 weeks later...
The fence was added later. It would look a whole lot better with that removed. I guess you could have those new salt water systems installed that they use on pools now. I am not a pool expert so I have no idea what would be involved with that.

It's not hard to do, just updating the equipment. Which might need updating anyway since it hasn't been used in awhlie.

But actually a properly maintained pool shouldn't smell like chlorine. The only area that would really have that odor is where you store the chemicals which would be outside.