How is the best way to help my Mom  

14 members have voted

1. 1. Should we

• Sell our Clear Lake home and move to Park Place
    • Sell our Clear Lake home and move to Glenbrook Valley
    • Continue commuting to take care of Mom
    • Try to talk Mom into moving into assisted living
    • Give up and crawl under a rock

My 83 year old Mom just came home from the hospital. This was her third hospital visit this year. She is widowed, I am an only child. I have two children, ages 12 and 14. The 12 year old has been diagnosed with bi-polar, and the 14 year old is a handfull. They are adopted, birth brothers. I remarried in August of 2004, lost my job that same month. I have been working part-time since 2005. We live in Clear Lake. She lives in Park Place. The entire length of ALL hospital stays, I visited daily, I fed her animals in the morning, and my husband fed them at night.

We have been 100% helpful despite the fact that she hates my husband, and she totally has disowned me - cut me out of her will. Our relationship is rocky at best, but she did give me a car for my 50th birthday.

I say all of that to say this - she needs help and cannot live alone. My Dad built the house that she lives in in 1948. She won't go - and I don't know what to do.

My kids go to private school in Clear Lake and all their friends are here. We go to church here. Financially, we are house poor, but other than that - we are happy here.

We could move closer to her because she won't move closer to us.

I am just out of my mind - thought this would help somehow.

I do value the opinons of you all on here.

Any suggestions??

This is a pretty sensitive thing so I'll refrain from offering my advice, but I will say that you are in my prayers.