Fujitsu 17" laptop

I'm partial to what I got a few months ago:

an HP Pavillion DV4000.

The only thing I did different was nuke it. twice.

Installed XP Pro and just enough drivers to make this thing work properly. I then saved it as a backup.

Then I installed all the IM stuff, my Net Stuff and mail stuff. Then I saved it as a recovery point.

Runs like a champ. when it bogs down, I just take it to the last recovery point and it screams again. :)

I'm partial to what I got a few months ago:

an HP Pavillion DV4000.

We have a bunch of HP machines at work. I'm totally not impressed. If you're looking for something and you don't care about build quality, just save your money and get a dell.

I've been using IBM ThinkPads since 1996. I'm only on my second one. They're that durable.

Thinkpads have a very good reputation, though I don't know if that's being maintained since they were sold by IBM to Lenovo.

HP, Dell, Toshiba -- we have them all at work. Many different models. All suck.

As great as laptops are, half of them is the screen -- very fragile. This is the only purchase for which I would recommend an extended service contract. A good one, too. That means checking it out and buying from a more expensive store if necessary.

Thinkpads have a very good reputation, though I don't know if that's being maintained since they were sold by IBM to Lenovo.

I ordered a T42p about 6 months after the switchover. I wasn't in the least disappointed. Of course this machine was 100% IBM engineered since it was designed before the switchover, but it was built under the rule of Lenovo.

Now I would stay away from the new 3000 series machines. Those appear to be standard issue el-cheapo crap.