What Makes A Good Builder?

jscarbor

Lets hear what you think makes someone a good builder. Assume the builder is a production type builder say 100+ homes built a year.

Yes I am a builder, I can get a set of plans look at them and build, i'm not an engineer, I hire them to engineer a house that is practical to build. I'm a 10 unit per year size builder now about to be a 30 unit per year builder.

Edited by jscarbor

Unfortunately not very much money in building 10 homes a year (unless they are $400K+ and selling of course) as my bank account can attest to.

Personally my goal is somewhere in the 50-75 range with 2 good superintendants working with me.

To me, that's what makes a good builder - someone whose workload isn't overburdened. 30 homes a year is close to the "impersonal" line in my opinion.

Unfortunately not very much money in building 10 homes a year (unless they are $400K+ and selling of course) as my bank account can attest to.

Personally my goal is somewhere in the 50-75 range with 2 good superintendants working with me.

There are good ethical builders, but these mega- builders come in, buy in bulk, do shoddy work and offer eye candy and flat screen tv's and no paymens for 6 months and the smaller eithical builder has a hard time meeting those prices... because he turns out a quality product he is proud of...these meg a builders can't be proud of what they are building..they don't care and that is a sad state of affairs.