Looks Like Galveston Has Some Competition

I think they are hilarious, too. At one time, when I was having one of my weekly (now daily) "I hate being a lawyer" moments, I decided that the moped vendors in Key West looked like they had the perfect job. You show up, rent $1500 mopeds to tourists for $30 (now $50) a day, then you go to a bar and get ____faced. The next day you do it again...or maybe you don't. Who cares!

I noticed that, closer to home, neither Galveston nor South Padre Island had moped vendors. This could be my early retirement! I set out to find the perfect spot to rent them, priced various mopeds, and tried to figure out why no one in Texas was making a killing on this lucrative, and brain dead business opportunity.

Alas, as a lawyer, I eventually started looking at the lawbooks to answer this question, and sadly, found my answer. It seems that in most every other state, mopeds can be ridden without a special license...in fact, in some states, mopeds with engines under 50cc are not even considered motor vehicles! Any one can ride them!

So, what does Texas do in light of this fact? They require a MOPED LICENSE to operate a moped in Texas! Not a driver's license. Not a motorcycle license. A stinkin' moped license! Because you need this special license, no tourist will ever have one, and you could incur liability for renting to people without one. And no insurance company will cover you unless you require renters to have this license.

Having found this early retirement killing ordinance, I slinked back to the office to meet my next client. :(

You could always rent out those weird looking VW go-carts. Or those little pedal wagons or whatever they are called.

And those pictures are very nice. It looks a lot like Galveston, except it has more foot traffic.

Edited by Talbot