What Do People Really Want In Real Estate Agent

jscarbor

I'm a very small builder of townhomes inside the loop. I am currently working with a real estate agent to sell my homes. He seems to do a good job at selling the homes and I am grateful for that. In the end he makes about the same amount of money as I do on many houses, for that I am a little troubled. He doesn't do much advertising and his website is ok. I'm guessing he gets calls from signs and HAR. I'm thinking of forming my own little butique real estate office to take care of my houses as well as the publics needs. Now, there are already too many realtors out there that essentially do the same thing. Are they taking care of what you as a consumer really want? What does the consumer want?

Some things I am kicking around:

Reduced fee listings to go along with full service listings.

Special buyer incentives in lieu of full listing fee.

Weekly activity report on your listing emailed.

Weekly distribution of property flyers.

Access to many subcontractors and an idea of what things should cost.

1 hour consult with interior designer if requested.

1 Hour consultation of materials prices.

Pay for closing cost of buyer if representing buyer.

More incentives if using said company to buy one of my homes.

You get the idea. Is this what people want? Is it different?

What can the realtor industry do better?

What can the realtor industry do better?

Get rid of the Realtors, and commissions, and morph into a centralized online listing database, where you get a listing put in for a flat fee, then a-la-carte services on top of that...like professional assistance determining what to price a home for, staging, lawyer referrals for closing, remodeling contractors, inspectors, etc.