Snake Identification?

sheeats

Okay, I answered the spider question. Now I need help with a snake question... :lol:

I found this beautiful creature in my backyard yesterday evening. He seems to have made himself a nice home under our shed. We back right onto the bayou, so all kinds of random animals find their way into our backyard each night, but this is the first snake I've seen that looks like this. He's just under two feet long and is black/grey with striking orange marks and an orange head.

I'm no snake expert, but I'm pretty sure he's a Broad-Banded Water Snake. My husband thinks I'm an idiot and that it's a water moccasin / cottonmouth. But if you look closely, you'll see that he doesn't have that water moccasin "bandit mask" or whatever you want to call it on his head. His head is also not quite the right shape for a water moccasin / cottonmouth. He's also totally non-aggressive, which water moccasins aren't.

Snake2.jpg

Snake4.jpg

Snake3.jpg

Any ideas? I sure hope it's just a Broad-Banded Water Snake, because I'd hate to have to get rid of him if he's something venomous.

That's exactly what that snake is:

http://www.texassnakes.net/BroadBanded.htm

Please don't kill it. Unlike most snake species, this one probably won't eat many pests around your yard as they mostly eat fish and frogs, but they also won't hurt you or your pets, either. If you have to move it, pick it up and drop it into a garbage bag and quickly set it free next to the nearest bayou, but it won't hurt anything staying in your yard, either.

Eat it. Then blog about eating it.

Snake is a food that can be eaten raw, btw. Snake sushi.

I think I actually just gave you the next Houstonist foodie event, sheeats. You're welcome. :)

:lol: Thanks. :lol:

Now that I think of it, I've eaten rattlesnake (a loooong time ago). That should fill my snakes-as-food quota for a lifetime, I believe.

That's exactly what that snake is:

http://www.texassnakes.net/BroadBanded.htm