an employment question

Kenneth

Hi, I noticed that there isn't a forum on the website titled "Employment Issues", that's why I decided the "City Hall" forum would be the best place for my question.

First, I already have a job working part-time in retail. I am starting to hate the job because the hours are long even though it was advertised as a part-time job. I am new to Houston and a part of me wants to explore the city and learn more about it, unfortunately I have only Thursday and Sunday completely off. Right now I'm taking steps to find new work..on craigslist, here on HAIF, visiting a Houston WorkSource office.

But the huge lingering question in the back of my mind is: What types of industries are most Houstonians employed in? Is it cheifly in the retail industry? Restaurant? Manufacturing? Industry? Or, administrative?

Where can college students in Houston (degree/non-degree) find work? In my city of origin, there are many students, and graduates who forced themselves to work in retail because they couldn't find any work in their careers.

On the flip side, I am grateful that I do have the ability to pay the bills, but the job is very physical..it's boring, and I'm not learning something that will become beneficial in my career. Internships are beneficial, but as we all know, they don't pay any money.

Houstonians are employed in many industries but many require specialized skills or degrees. in general retail jobs don't which is why those with less skills work there.

sounds like you could become a coop in your field but you don't want to because it pays less. but you must remember if it helps you in the future, sacrificing now might be a good thing.

Hi, I noticed that there isn't a forum on the website titled "Employment Issues", that's why I decided the "City Hall" forum would be the best place for my question.