Accounting Software For Real Estate Investments

TheNiche

I've never really worked the back office side of a business before, and my knowledge of accounting is purely theoretical and very basic, yet I've been able to satisfy my LLC's accounting and financial needs thus far using improvised Excel-based accounting systems. That's going to change as I start recognizing revenue, so I need to purchase and then learn how to use accounting software.

Is there anybody on HAIF that has a background in accounting and that could provide some guidance as to which type of software would be best for a small business that is acting as the owner, developer, contractor, and management company for a single commercial property?

• 2 months later...

I create everything I need from Excel. From statements to dashboards. I only use it because of the flexibility in programming it. If you're moving away from Excel I would suggest Peachtree. I've had limited experience with it - I've used it for a few months a couple years ago. It asked me a series of questions about the business, start dates, reporting dates, and questions about the accounting system I have setup. I think there is a trial version on their site. You may want to take a look at it.

http://www.peachtree.com/productsServices/tryPeachtree/

I'm a CPA, but my background is Excel and corporate-level Oracle solutions...obviously $overkill for a small business. However, you might be well-served posting on this forum:

http://www.accounting-and-bookkeeping-tips.com/accounting-forum/index.php

I think that Quickbooks has a real estate template, which might be of benefit to you.