New to the Board

jasonwb

just wanted to introduce myself to the forum. i haved lived in and out of houston for the past 10 years and i am in the process of buying a townhouse/condo in the midtown, rice military, or med center area. i have been researching properties for the past 8 months and have made some good headway. i have read many of the posts in this forum and found a lot of good info.

i understand there is a lot more to buying than just finding something in your price range and checking it out and i feel this forum will help assist me in my journey. i am currently working with a realtor that is not familiar with these areas and i feel i am not getting everything out of this process.

a few of the properties i have looked at are Camden Commons off Almeda and Camden in the Med Center area, The Plaza at Center in Rice Military, and 2902 Chenevert which was under contract when i viewed the property and closed shortly after that.

any good ideas or tips from experience in these areas will be greatly appreciated. i am also open to suggestions of realtors that specialize in these areas.

thanks!

j

any good ideas or tips from experience in these areas will be greatly appreciated. i am also open to suggestions of realtors that specialize in these areas.

Finding a good property can be a lot like finding a good woman. You can look at hundreds, become infatuated with a few, and possibly fall in love with one, making a bunch of amateurish mistakes and overlooking a lot of shortcomings that'll come back and bite you in the ass later on. A few tips:

1) Know your utility function. What combination of traits are you in the market for? That blonde may be great to cuddle up with on a cold night, but you wouldn't want to marry her...and the chubby smart girl may be intriguing, but perhaps you'd best admire her brilliance from afar...but the reasonably cute brunette with that irrisistible personality that goes perfectly with yours, she's a long-term keeper.