Townhomes? Good Investment? What Area?

motocross

I was recently leasing at Lofts on Post Oak until the Hanover Company sold the complex. Now I'm stuck at the Gables Augusta :angry: off Westheimer. Anyways, I have been thinking about building equity in a home instead of tossing my money away with leasing. I'll been looking at 3 story Townhomes in rice military off Washington. Has this area reached it's peak? Or is there some new up incoming areas like this in other parts of Houston? If so, where? I'm new to Houston and wanting to stay by the galleria area. Thanks for any info you can provide and love this site.

I was recently leasing at Lofts on Post Oak until the Hanover Company sold the complex. Now I'm stuck at the Gables Augusta :angry: off Westheimer. Anyways, I have been thinking about building equity in a home instead of tossing my money away with leasing. I'll been looking at 3 story Townhomes in rice military off Washington. Has this area reached it's peak? Or is there some new up incoming areas like this in other parts of Houston? If so, where? I'm new to Houston and wanting to stay by the galleria area. Thanks for any info you can provide and love this site.

South of Washington and north of Memorial is generally referred to as Rice Military or the West End. This area continues to be popular with new construction all around. Mir Azizi of Caspian Homes was the first to build in this area about 10 years ago. One of his first homes was priced at $179,000 if I remember correctly. With it's location between downtown and the Galleria (not to forget Memorial Park is in walking distance) the area will probably continue to grow in construction and price.

Some Realtors refer to the area north of Washington as the West End but I'm not sure that's correct. North of Washington is cheaper but you have the train to contend with.

As for other nearby areas, there are new townhomes on Yale in The Heights.

• 4 weeks later...