Harry Wiess Estate & Stables At 8750 Crescent Gate Ln.

Highrise Tower

This week I studied and learned about the old Harry Wiess estate that eventually developed into the neighborhood Stablewood. Located across from Memorial Park, near North Post Oak Lane, these homes are very, very nice. Rivaling the mansions in River Oaks.

I had help during my research from a coworker who knows the family and a fellow HAIF member.  Thanks guys.

Here is present-day neighborhood called Stablewood.

D3rCeWe.jpg

Stablewood, then called the Wiess Estate, in 1944:

hSeKzvC.jpg

The home up close and zoomed in. It appears there was a horse oval riding ring behind/in front of the home? Imagine having your own riding ring? Just so much wealth! On the right side of the estate, there are also two other oval rings. Mr. Wiess either owned multiple riding rings or they were apart of another family, possibly Will Hogg's Tall Timber Stables?

SbMOApZ.jpg

Harry Wiess' home and stables was built in 1930 and designed by the famous socialite architect John F. Staub.  Today, the 3-acre parcel still exists and is owned by the Elkin's family, who have the property ownership listed under a corporation.

H.C. Wiess's daughter married into the Elkins family. It appears that Harry Wiess left the property to his daughter, Margaret Wiess-Elkins. Margaret Wiess-Elkins was born October 26, 1922. She was the daughter of Olga and Harry Wiess, a founder of Humble Oil.

poo33Gk.jpg

I was told that the Wiess Stables, or "The Stables", or "Stable Set" became a party house.  The property contains a pool and tennis court.  Researching into the party house idea, it could be a different mansion all together?

The book from Stephen Fox revealed all sorts of information about the Wiess Stables. Fantastic reading if you haven't read it yet.  The following images are credited to Mr. Fox's great work. The country houses of John F. Staub by Stephen Fox.