Buyer Looking For A Mod To Restore

grayhomes

I have a buyer (i'm a Realtor) that has owned homes in Palm Springs (mod ones)... they love mod.. and have put me up to the task of finding a mod here to restore. They are specific about area in wanting to be close to the Loop and preferrably inside the Loop. They will not go to the east side of Houston or Memorial.

If anyone knows of a home that someone is willing to sell that is not listed OR if you know one that is listed or new to the market, etc... please let me know. They just got back from Palm Springs and are jonesing for a house.

Thanks!!

That's a big can of worms and a tall order.

How much restoration $$$? How much for the house in the first place?

Do they want a "pedigree" or architect name attached to the house?

Inside the loop is really tough. There are moderns, but they are few and far between. Just outside 610 in Meyerland is tough, but not impossible to find a modern.

What style of modern? organic, contemporary, ranch, or miesian?

The two that come to mind are The Formica House and DJ Stephenson's mod in Robindell.

I can tell you that your clients need to jump when they find one that is in the right ballpark. No house is going to be perfect.

You kind of have to pick your battles. If location is the most important thing then don't get picky over condition. If condition is important then don't get picky over location. If architect name is important then don't get picky over anything else etc...

Good luck. If you're a realtor you already have an edge on finding the houses first.

Jason

I have a buyer (i'm a Realtor) that has owned homes in Palm Springs (mod ones)... they love mod.. and have put me up to the task of finding a mod here to restore. They are specific about area in wanting to be close to the Loop and preferrably inside the Loop. They will not go to the east side of Houston or Memorial.