House Price Forecast

zooter

Hi,

I am looking to move to Houston within the next 2-2.5 years. I'm a Chemical Engineer and would probably be employed with one of the big consulting companies with offices in Sugarland. What I am worried about are the property values. Right now the prices are really affordable especially in the Sugarland and Katy area where you can get a really nice house for 250k. Where I live right now the same house would be close to $1 million!

I hope to sell my house here and then purchase a home on cash when I move. But I wasn't able to find any projected forecast on the Houston housing market. Do you think prices will rise substantially in the next 2-3 years? Also, before the depression in the housing market, what was the average price of a home in Sugarland? Any info would be really appreciated, thanks.

I'd be much less concerned with the change in value of a home here and more concerned with the home you're going to have to sell. Texas real estate is pretty solid, seeming to increase in value just a little above the rate of inflation each year. Seems like this'll be a low year for appreciation, probably not growing very much at all, but probably not declining either.

And our inventories of new unoccupied homes aren't insane, like in Phoenix or south Florida. At price points below $150k, there was a little too much to accomodate changing mortgage markets, so new construction has slowed down a lot while the inventories burned off. But above about $225k, the rate of new construction starts has actually continued to increase. The higher end of the market is rock solid.

The Chronicle had a big compilation of house price trends for various subdivisions in the area. I don't know if it included Sugarland or not.