Robert E. Lee Graduates

Pumapayam

Kym said:
Hi everyone! I am new to this thread, so this is my first post. I am part of a forum called websleuths. We are a wonderful group of people who devote our time to putting names to the many unidentified persons throughout the world, so that we can bring a little peace to their families. We are currently trying to identify a young girl who was found in Texas in 1990. She was wearing a 1975 class ring from Robert E Lee Houston. I was hoping someone here could tell me a little about the class rings from back then. Was it customary to put your first or last initial in the ring or the letter of your school? Is there a place to get a class list from then? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

http://websleuths.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48232

Is she dead, and 17 years later!

What about dental records?

I'm sorry if I wasn't clear, yes she was found deceased, most probably murdered and is still unidentified. They have records but no one to compare them to. THe best lead so far is the ring.

While I went to school in Houston (not to Lee), I was never into school rings. So I can't say this for sure, but it looks to me like the ring is a girl's ring and not a boy's. If it were a boy's, it might be less solid of a lead, as it might belong to a boyfriend.

(You call her a young girl, though she was (possibly) class of '75, so I'm assuming she'd been dead for quite a while when she was found. If not, perhaps it was a parent's ring? It would seem odd to me for a woman in her 30's to be still wearing her high school ring, though I guess that's also possible. If you have an approximate age at time of death and/or approximation of how long she'd been dead when found, that might help others give you suggestions on how to proceed. For example, if she was killed in the 70's, someone might remember a classmate or recent graduate who went missing, etc.)