KB Home: Houston's Next Ghettos?

kzseattle

Ha ha ha! These suckers should have known better! As long as people keep buying them, these builders would continue to thrive.

http://www.kbhomesucks.com/viewcomplaints.asp

It's an interesting topic to ponder; what precipitates the formation of a ghetto?

In the past, it's always seemed to have been due to a lot of low-income people with a low percentage of home-ownership. A high percentage of single parent families with a higher than average number of children might be another factor. The quality of construction of the homes doesn't always mean an area will or won't become a ghetto. In Houston, look at Washington Terrace. Those were high quality homes built in the 20s, almost mansions.

I work in the mortgage business and we have done a few loans for KB in the past few months, mostly in Missouri City. They are a machine. The business is always rush, rush to close but they push harder than normal. It appears to be all numbers to them so it's probably safe to assume that they are cutting corners in the construction process wherever possible. The borrowers we've seen have been about half investors and half owner occupied, with first-time homebuyers using 100%, high-risk stated income loans. If the economy slips and some of these people lose their jobs and have no reserves, foreclosures will start popping up.