Flooding

txcat84

The topic of flooding is en vogue for obvious reasons, particularly in regards to the theoretical new HEB going up IF dry law is relaxed and IF HEB decides to build on the location at 23rd and Shepherd. 

My question is if this development proceeds:

- What would be the impact radius of increased flooding that may occur? 1 block? 5 blocks? Just the immediate neighbors?

- What would the most responsible way to handle run-off be?  Retention (wouldn't mind an explanation of how this works)? Are there other alternatives?

- Would area residents have recourse? Is there a way to mandate a certain course of action?

I have no experience with this. I'm not a NIMBY. I don't have an opinion one way or another (don't want to see neighborhoods flood, lose character etc. OR for developers to run off because of  too many stipulations) I'm just genuinely curious and would love to see this board a little more active!

Ready, go.

People in Spring Branch blame the new Bunker Hill HEB for increased flooding in the area.  Their argument is that HEB elevated the property a few feet when they built the new store which caused storm water to drain off faster and also blocked the sheet flow of water in big storms.  They claim that areas that never flooded in relatively minor storms started flooding after the store was completed and the Memorial day flood was especially devastating because of the new development in the area.  The City through the local TIRZ had promised to build a bunch of detention/retention ponds to mitigate all the new development along the I-10 corridor, but did not follow through.  A group of residents filed a lawsuit against the TIRZ to compel them to make the promised flood infrastructure improvements.