Jump to content

Wrap-Up From This Year's BP-MS 150

Recommended Posts


BP Signs as Title Sponsor through 2009

The Lone Star Chapter is proud to announce that BP has signed on as title sponsor through 2009.

Since 2001, BP has been the title sponsor of the annual MS 150 from Houston to Austin, the largest MS 150 in North America. This ongoing partnership will help more than 17,000 people living with MS in the Lone Star Chapter.

2005 Houston Award Winners Announced

The following awards were presented at the 2005 BP MS 150 Awards Party in Houston on June 23:

Top Three Fund-Raisers

1. Jim Tidwell ($150,225) :)

2. John Pearson ($47,149)

3. Brad Robbins ($43,110)

Top Four Fund-Raising Teams

1. Team BP ($675,000)

2. Anadarko ($371,335)

3. Sun & Ski Sports for Ann ($337,847)

4. Dow Chemical ($256,751)

2005 Team 13 Top Fund-Raiser (Cyclists 13 and Younger)

Zoe Baur, age 10 (more than $6,000)

Largest Team

Team BP (750 members)

Largest New Team

SCCC/Copaxone (89 members)

Largest Growth of Veteran Team (Less than 100 Riders)

Team Total (21 cyclists in 2004; 96 in 2005)

Largest Growth of Veteran Team (More than 100 Riders)

Wells Fargo (12 cyclists in 2004; 220 in 2005)

2005 Rookie Team Captain

Samara Jones-Bufkins, CenterPoint Energy

Highest Average Pledge Overall

Team Clipper ($4,782 per rider, with 13 members)

Highest Average Pledge (More than 50 Riders)

Donato, Minx & Brown ($2,399 per rider, with 77 members)

Most Improved Fund-Raising Team (Less than 100 Riders)

Houstonian Hammerheads ($51,833 in 2004; $103,514 in 2005)

Most Improved Fund-Raising Team (More than 100 Riders)

Wells Fargo ($1,915 in 2004; $101,038 in 2005)

Most Spirited Team

Carney Men

Best Dressed Team

CC Riders

Best Team Promoting the Mission (Tie)

Amegy Bank and Mustang/Wood Group

2005 Believe Award


Lifetime Achievement Award


Max North Cone Head Award

Sick Puppies Medical Team

Mission Possible Awards

Anadarko; CC Riders; CenterPoint Energy; ChevronTexaco; ConocoPhillips; Continental Airlines; Devon Energy; Donato, Minx & Brown; Dow Chemical; Energy Cyclers; ExxonMobil; Fugro; Gardere; GE/Bike Barn; Halliburton/Landmark; Houston Builders ? AIA/AGC; Houstonian Hammerheads; Lyondell Cycle Team; Saint Arnold Brewing Company; Schlumberger; Sun & Ski Sports; Team BP; Team HP; Team Mission Control; Team St. David's; Team Texas Exes; Wells Fargo

Safety Awards

ABS Screamin Eagles, Aker Kvaerner, Amegy Bank, Baker Hughes, CC Riders, ConocoPhillips, Dow Chemical, ExxonMobil, Fugro, GE/Bike Barn, Halliburton/Landmark, Old School Cycling, Rocket Sprockets, Schlumberger, St. Laurence, Team BP, Team BTX, Team Mission Control, Team Newfield, Team Texas Exes, Universal Compression, Weatherford, Wells Fargo, Xerox International Cycling Team

Title Sponsor


Official Vehicle of the BP MS 150


Platinum Sponsors

Bechtel, Central Transportation Systems, Gatorade, Interland, Michelob Ultra, Palletized Trucking Inc., Pepsi, Pfizer, Serono, The Houston Chronicle, United Rentals

Gold Sponsors

3-Men Movers, American Courier, Apache Corporation, Aquafina,

A-Rocket Moving and Storage, Balance Bar, Bekins, Blue Bell Ice Cream, BMC Software, CenterPoint Energy, Continental Airlines, Halliburton, Landmark, Men's Wearhouse, Mustang Engineering, VOmax

Silver Sponsors

Burlington Resources, Cingular Wireless, ConocoPhillips, HCA Affiliated Hospitals, Nabisco Fig Newtons, Paceline Products, Panera Bread, Paradigm Geophysical, Skyline Displays, St. David?s Healthcare Partnership, Wilson Supply

Bronze Sponsors

Austin American-Statesman, Baker & Hostetler LLP, BFI, Greater Houston Movers Association, ImagePro, The Methodist Hospital, Health & Fitness Sports Magazine

Breakpoint Sponsors

ABS, Accenture, Baker & Hostetler LLP, BMC Software, BP, CHOICE! Energy, Honeywell, Landmark, Love Sac Bean Bag Furniture, Men's Wearhouse, MSC Hospitality, Nabisco, Newfield Exploration, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Seyfarth-Shaw LLP, St. Catherine's Montessori School, Sweet Leaf Tea

On-Air Media Partner

Clear Channel Houston Radio

Official Finish Line Partner

Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum

Austin-Area Winners Receive Awards

The following 2005 BP MS 150 Awards were presented in Austin on June 27:

Top Three Fund-Raisers

1. Davis Baldwin ($23,630)

2. Chad Hamilton ($13,866)

3. Neil Hand ($8,783)

Top Three Fund-Raising Teams

1. Team St. David's ($121,075)

2. Wells Fargo ($100,663)

3. Team Guaranty ($44,191)

Largest New Team

Team Taco Deli (60 members)

Most Improved Fund-Raising Team (Less than 50 Riders)

Team Guaranty ($23,124 in 2004; $44,191 in 2005)

Highest Average Fund-Raising Team

Mega Myelin ($4,078 per rider)

2005 Rookie Team Captain (New Team)

Tracy Cid, Team Taco Deli

2005 Rookie Team Captain (Veteran Team)

Samantha Jupe, Wells Fargo

Mission Possible Awards

Team St. David's and Wells Fargo

Safety Award

Wells Fargo

Above and Beyond Volunteer Awards

Dell Inc.

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

West Wood High School

Austin-Area Sponsor Awards

Austin American-Statesman, Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum, Emmis Austin Radio, St. David's Healthcare, United Rentals


2006 Registration Opens in Fall

Registration for the 2006 BP MS 150 Bike Tour will open this fall. The specific date for registration will be announced in advance in future BP MS 150 e-newsletters.

The 22nd Annual BP MS 150 Bike Tour is scheduled for April 22-23, 2006.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • The title was changed to Wrap-Up From This Year's BP-MS 150

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...