Ashford Neighborhoods

Hello,

This is my first time to post on HAIF, but thought I should get some opinions before my husband and I purchase our first home. We have been looking in some of the Ashford neighborhoods (Ashford Forest, Ashford West, Ashford South and Ashford Hills). The homes we are looking at are valued in the $170-$190,000 range and are zoned to HISD. Schools are not extremely important to us right now as we do not have kids yet. We are looking, however, to get a fairly decent return if we stay 7 or so years. Some people have told me that the homes in that area (particularly in Ashford Forest) are expected to at least double in the next 10 years. Is that true? There does seem to be a lot of new retail construction off Eldridge, but I haven't found any real evidence that this area is having a rebirth. Please share any information you may have. Thanks!

M

I like that area for it's greenspace; it has lots of big trees, and you're fairly close to Terry Hershey Park and the Addicks Reservoir. I don't know anything about property values in that part of town, but being so close to the Energy Corridor can't hurt.

I like that area for it's greenspace; it has lots of big trees, and you're fairly close to Terry Hershey Park and the Addicks Reservoir. I don't know anything about property values in that part of town, but being so close to the Energy Corridor can't hurt.

There was an article in the Houston Chronicle about it and it's rebirth. Barbara Bush, West Briar and Westside are excellent schools.

Country Village is another good one in 77077.

We live on the north side of the bayou and the increases have been over 50% in the past few years. Incomes levels that once bought in this area 10 years ago are priced out, but still need to be in the area. So I think it could see some good growth. The closer you can buy to the bayou, the faster in aprreciation, IMHO

I will try to find the article and come back to link you.