Video Editing Software

I recently did a video project for work using Microsoft Movie Maker. It turned out relatively successful in that the client loved it, but I found it to be very limiting software with not a lot of options.

Back in grad school, I messed around a little with Sony Vegas, but found though it had lots more options and capabilities.. it was slightly daunting to use.

So, for those of you that do video editing either professionally or just for the fun of it, I'd like your thoughts on which programs you use, pros and cons, ease of use, what you use it for.

The only ones I've really heard of are Adobe Premiere, Ulead video, Sony Vegas, Microsoft MovieMaker or Imovie so if anyone can bring other options to the table, that would be great.

Thanks.

I'm no professional by any stretch, but I use Premiere for personal projects. I like pretty much everything about the program, except that I think the layout seems cluttered, and the version I use doesn't export MPEG4 files.

I've never used Final Cut, but it seems to get pretty good reviews, and I know people who swear by it.

I had about 4 months of experience with a full Avid system a few years back and it was really fantastic, but big $, and required some training to use. If you're ready to take it to the next step, I don't have a better recommendation.

Personally I use, and love Final Cut Pro. Premier is almost as strong, but lacks a true vectorscope, and if your into professional video a vectorscope is a must.

All in all, it depends on how much of a learning curve you want to dive into. If you just want some nice pan and zoom, basic Chroma key, and color correction, I would go with the mid level Vegas. In fact I believe Vegas has MPEG 4 compression. I read an article last week about the mid level Vegas (can't remember the model), and it was a neat little software. It's probably more viable if your going from Movie Maker as the learning curve is not very steep.