Inner Loop Neighborhoods: Where to Buy?

Nevermore

Ok guys, I have been a resident of Houston for about a year now and have been renting a place in Midtown ever since. I have finally decided that its time to stop throwing away my money and buy a place. Myself and my-soon-to-be fiancee both work Downtown and feel pretty strongly about not having to drive more than 15-20 minutes to work each morning. Because I am fairly new to the city, and also bc most of the people I work with live in Sugarland, my knowledge of Inner Loop neighborhoods is fairly limited. A friend told me I should visit this site and ask for opinions.

Because I travel alot on the weekends and work late during the week, I dont really have much time or energy to pour into renovating or repairing issues in my home. Consequently, in the initial stages of my search for a new home, I was gung-ho about townhouses because they are new, cheaper and in my mind would need less maintenance. So I started looking around Midtown, Montrose, and Rice Military areas for townhomes that were in my price range. Which by the way is from 170 to 250k. I really liked these areas and found some decent places but then became hesistant to purchase a townhome the more I learned about their resale potential. With my work, I may have to move in 7-10 years so I dont want to be in a postion where I lose money because my place isnt "the new thing on the block".

So then recently I shifted my attention to some smaller single family homes in areas like Montrose, Woodland Heights, Norhill and Houston Heights. Despite the lower sq. ft of these homes, I like the idea of having a yard, a porch, a garage, and storage area. But like I said, I lack the time and expertise to make substantial repairs to an older home. And this area may be a big change for me with regards to the convenience of a place like Midtown where restaurants, bars, and grocery stores are just a few blocks away.

So my question to the forum is this: