The Birds of Hermann Park

About a year ago, I started getting interested in birds, and a little bit into birding.  I recently went to Hermann Park to see what I might find there, and was surprised by the variety I found, even though I only walked through maybe a quarter of the property.  

I'm not an expert on birds, and not really interested in becoming one.  So I use Cornell University's Merlin app to figure out what I'm looking at.  I do the visual inspection, followed by the audio analysis to confirm.  Here's what I found that day:

Image-1.jpegImage-1 (33).jpegImage-1 (32).jpegImage-1 (31).jpegImage-1 (30).jpegImage-1 (29).jpegImage-1 (28).jpegImage-1 (27).jpegImage-1 (26).jpegImage-1 (25).jpegImage-1 (24).jpegImage-1 (23).jpegImage-1 (22).jpegImage-1 (21).jpegImage-1 (20).jpegImage-1 (19).jpegImage-1 (18).jpegImage-1 (17).jpegImage-1 (16).jpegImage-1 (15).jpegImage-1 (14).jpegImage-1 (13).jpegImage-1 (12).jpegImage-1 (11).jpegImage-1 (10).jpegImage-1 (9).jpegImage-1 (8).jpegImage-1 (7).jpegImage-1 (6).jpegImage-1 (5).jpegImage-1 (4).jpegImage-1 (3).jpegImage-1 (2).jpegImage-1 (1).jpeg

Obviously, those aren't my photographs, they're screenshots from the Merlin app as it identified each bird.  My bird photos look more like this:

IMG_4437.jpeg

• Like 6

41 minutes ago, editor said:

Obviously, those aren't my photographs, they're screenshots from the Merlin app as it identified each bird.  My bird photos look more like this:

IMG_4437.jpeg

I'd normally be a little wary about geese getting that close. In my experience they tend to be territorial and somewhat ill-tempered, but I'm guessing the ones in Hermann Park are probably pretty tame due to the number of people that feed them. 

24 minutes ago, mkultra25 said:

I'd normally be a little wary about geese getting that close. In my experience they tend to be territorial and somewhat ill-tempered, but I'm guessing the ones in Hermann Park are probably pretty tame due to the number of people that feed them.