An Easy Temporary Fix For Highway 290

DJ2025

I notice that an area that is continously slow on 290, is between Hollister and Beltway 8......and I think it is mostly due to the exit and entrance ramps not having an acceleration or continous lane. Look at this picture:

290sucks.jpg

This would probably solve 25% of the traffic issues on 290 (at least in that section of it), until they completely overhaul the freeway.

I don't know why they didn't do this with Katy Freeway either (Between Gessner and Wirt Rd)

Any thoughts?

i think it is a good idea, although i don't know how feasible it would be on the department of transportation's priority list...

but yeah, it seems the drivers entering and exiting the freeway in that area don't know the meaning of the word "merge" :huh:

I'm no expert on it, but hasn't there been a movement to eliminate the lanes used for both entrance and exit? The problem is that one lane shares cars getting both on and off, and the traffic flows interfere with each other. With separate lanes the flows are, at least in theory, kept apart. That was how they redesigned the Southwest Fwy a few years back, when there were consecutive on/off ramps between Greenbriar/Shepherd & Kirby, and Kirby and Buffalo Speedway.

This is exactly what the redesign of the West Loop is designed to get rid of. The cars entering that lane are accelerating as cars from the freeway enter and decelerate. It was a design that made sense on paper and was a disaster in practice.

The preferred design, and what the new Loop will do, is to have exiting traffic get off before entering traffic gets on. That way the merging, if any, is done on the feeder road at slower speeds. In fact, the loop exits actually travel OVER the entrance ramp, so there is no merge at all.