Building Up A Credit Score

TheNiche

I knew that the residential mortgage markets were damaged, but I hadn't realized how bad it was until this week.

I've been buying and selling both residential and commercial properties since I was a lowly college student making $8 per hour. I've made good on payments, have never had a default condition (serious enough that a bank felt like reporting it to credit bureaus), and I paid my bills even when I was poor...simply by making sacrifices to my standard of living on the behalf of my creditors even though I could've ****ed them and enjoyed life.

But there's a problem. I paid for my education with cash earned by working my ass off rather than by taking out student loans, and I've only used credit cards for emergencies. I had to carry some high credit card balances for a couple years (by which I mean about $5k), but paid them all off about 18 months ago and haven't used them since. So my credit score sucks (i.e. is only "average") because I haven't either been in a state of financial distress or attempted to game the system at any point in the very recent past.

It's BS. (Perhaps I should start blaming Obama. Seems to be the fashionable thing to do in such circumstances.) I've got enough liquid assets on hand to cover the down payments on two deals of the size that I was trying to execute and also maintain six months of PITI on each of them. Yet I still can't do the one deal, which should've been easy (for once) because I was going to actually live there!

And this especially sucks because I can feel an increase in my rent coming on if I have to stay put for another year. I just know it!

The bastards.