Need help choosing electic provider.

Chris51

My contract is up Jan. 1, 2012. I am not familiar with choosing your own provider. I am trying to make sense of the website, Power To Choose, but in general I have never dealt with this system. I did Reliant for the first round, just to get power and now would like some advice on how people generally choose. Is going with big company, ie. Reliant, more reliable, in terms of staying in business, as opposed to some of the newer and smaller companies? I do think I want a locked in rate, I would hate the surprise of a big rate jump. Historically do rates tend to fluctuate that much, is locking in for a year wise, or should I go longer? Lots of questions I know. Thanks in advance.

Chris

There is generally a premium paid on locking in the rate...but I'm no expert. Try contacting Yolanda Brannen (409-539-6636). I've met her and her husband at a number of professional events, and they've helped me to figure out my situation on energy providers. (As a disclaimer: she represents Ambit Energy, and sold the service pretty hard. I didn't end up with them, but she put me on the right track to research all the options. Gotta respect her for that.)

I've done this a ton of times so I'll make it easy. Go to power to choose, in your search criteria select a fixed rate for 12 months. Then sort by price ascending and pick a company that has a good website (I.e. customer login). A 12 month keeps you from having any surprises over the next year, but allows you to find a different company later if you find someone cheaper. All companies are going to provide you the same power... so really you just need to find one that has a good price and a website that will let you manage your account without having to call them.