Wanting to move from Dallas to Houston

goddessmaker

Ok so I'm a young single college grad who is desiring to launch her career.I currently life in Dallas,Tx.I looking at Houston as a viable area to move to in order to make my dream of HR not a dream deferred.I would like to know what would be some pro's and con's to living in Houston.Any info is very much appreciated.

Ok so I'm a young single college grad who is desiring to launch her career.I currently life in Dallas,Tx.I looking at Houston as a viable area to move to in order to make my dream of HR not a dream deferred.I would like to know what would be some pro's and con's to living in Houston.Any info is very much appreciated.

If you can get the job you want, pretty much anywhere in Texas is viable. Costs of living are pretty similar.

Houston and Dallas as metropolitan areas are more or less neck-and-neck in terms of corporate headquarters per capita. Austin and San Antonio have had disadvantages due to smaller airports. This is an important criteria for HR jobs. The only difference is that Houston tends to have more business-to-business types of companies--particularly energy--whereas Dallas has more business-to-consumer type companies.

In terms of quality of life, I think that Houston trumps Dallas. From my experience...we're more diverse, we have a huge number of restaurants per capita, our restaurants don't have to be expensive to be good, and getting around is easier. Dallas has topography, I'll give it that.

I am from Houston but have lived in Dallas for the past 5 years after going to college there. In the grand scheme of things, both cities are very similar.

Houston advantages over Dallas (keep in mind these are all subjective):

-More centrally located, if living in or around the loop you have access to anything you need. In Dallas a lot of things tend to be in suburbs, cheaper food, more diverse food, costco, stadiums just as example