Houston's Little India

Sunstar

wow, i had my first taste of indian food at raja sweets. i was with a photographer friend after a shoot and she suggested the place. thank goodness we have sitar in the woodlands or i'd have to drive all the way to hillcroft for curry chicken.

now, if i could just get my employer to allow me to wear a churidar kurta during the summer........hmmmmm. ;)

Unfortunately Little India is also host to one of the worst traffic bottlenecks in the city. The stretch of Hillcroft between Westpark and 59 is to be avoided at all costs if you are in a hurry to get anywhere.

Hillcroft is probably my favorite street to eat on in Houston.

I've been eating at Bombay Sweets for well over 10 years...in fact, I don't believe it was a buffet when we first started eating there. I still stop in for the buffet at least once a month for a quick and cheap Indian fix (around $5.00).

One of my favorites on Hillcroft is Sri Balaji Bhavan, in the same parking lot as Raja Sweets, I believe (or maybe across the street?) It's vegetarian, as is Bombay Sweets. Great masala dosas and other goodies there. They were a hole in the wall 10 years ago, but obviously business has been good...they've expanded and upgraded the restaurant.

I ate at the Busy Boy sandwiches a few months ago as well, but wasn't impressed. Stick to the mom & pop Indian places.

Further up the street, between Westpark and Richmond, is Ashoka, which has more upscale dining and excellent food. A bit pricy, though.

Other good places on Hillcroft are the gigantic Droubi's and Abdallah's. Droubi's is Lebanese, and I think Abdallah's is as well.

Between 59 and Westheimer there are also a few other countries represented. Colombia, Iran, Italy (Antonio's Flying Pizza), are some of the ones I can think of off the top of my head.

Also, the traffic on Hillcroft isn't nearly as bad as it used to be. It seems like the Westpark/Westpark Tollway improvements helped the traffic somehow.