Question for civil engineers

I'm not a civil engineer, but have a question for one if any of you are on this board. Please forgive me if I'm using incorrect terminology.

I was just driving and saw a flatbed 18-wheel truck with two giant square concrete culvert sections in the back. You know, essentially giant square concrete pipes - maybe 6-8' on a side? It seemed tremendously wasteful to me that a truck can only carry 2-3 of these when it must take dozens or hundreds to build a drainage line of any length. So here's my question to civil engineers: do you think it might be possible to design a similar system where each box was cut into two L-shaped sections along two corner edges? The L-shape would stack/nest much more space-efficiently on an 18-wheeler truck bed. The the L's could be put together into a box on-site.

Now I realize that creates a weakness along those cut edges vs. a solid box, but here's my solution: when nesting them in the ground, alternate the cut corner edges from section to section. I wish there was an easier way to draw or describe this.

Imagine it this way. If you were standing at one end of the pipe as they were assembling it, the first section would be an L with another (L rotated 180 degrees) on top of it. That creates a weakness on the top-left and bottom-right corners. The next section moving forward would put an (L rotated 90 degrees) with another (L rotated 270 degrees). That one has a weakness in the top-right and bottom-left corners, but it's strong in the top-left and bottom-right corners, and the nesting with the first section helps strengthen that section and hold it together. Each nested section holds the section before it and after it together.

Any thoughts? Is this feasible? What would be required?

(I'm not a civil engineer, although I do hold an ancient B.S.C.E.)