advice on generator, please

sarahiki

I am thinking about getting a small generator before the upcoming storm season. I have no knowledge about them at all. I know they run on gasoline and run small appliances... I guess you put it in your garage and run a long extension cord into the house?

Questions:

1. What size would I need to run a mini-fridge, plus maybe a window unit?

2. Can you run it non-stop?

3. How noisy are they?

4. Any recommendations on brand/size/etc.?

Thanks!

I am thinking about getting a small generator before the upcoming storm season. I have no knowledge about them at all. I know they run on gasoline and run small appliances... I guess you put it in your garage and run a long extension cord into the house?

Questions:

1. What size would I need to run a mini-fridge, plus maybe a window unit?

2. Can you run it non-stop?

3. How noisy are they?

4. Any recommendations on brand/size/etc.?

Thanks!

NO! NO! NO!

Do not put ANY combustion engine indoors! They produce carbon monoxide. Carbon monoxide kills! I believe more people died from generators during Hurricane Ike than from the actual storm...at least in Harris County.

You can get a myriad of gensets, from little ones to whole house. If you are going to get a portable, consider whether you will also use it for camping or other uses. If so, buy one to fit that purpose. Whatever you buy will run a mini-fridge and a window unit. In fact, it would run a full-size fridge and a window unit. Here's a list of common electrical requirements of appliances.

http://www.reviewportablegenerators.com/watt-calculator/'>http://www.reviewportablegenerators.com/watt-calculator/