Can Anyone Suggest A Specific First Time Buyer's Grant Program?

amanda

Hello--I am considering the purchase of a 2 bedroom townhome inside the Beltway and have never bought anything before. I have a good Realtor and have no began to look just yet because the lease on my apartment still has 6 months left.

I see the "first time home buyer!!!" grant all over the place for Texas. This is my first time to buy a home, so I was wondering if anyone could recommend an actual program they had used in the past, or one they had heard about. When I do Google searches very generic results come up usually to link farms or nonsense pages. I would much rather use a suggestion of someone who has previous experience.

Thanks in advance,

Amanda

You may be referring to http://www.federalhousingtaxcredit.com/2009/index.html

Its an (up to) $8,000 tax credit that first time home buyers can get when they file their taxes.

I say up to, because I believe its 10% of the value of the home, up to $8,000 max.

Its not a grant, however you do not have to pay the money back as long as you stay in the residence for 36 months.

You can even amend your 2008 taxes to receive the credit now instead of later.

I am guessing he is dead on as far as what you have been seeing. Most federal or state 'grants' for home buyers are sparse, have dried up, or are no longer in existance. In addition, they have very strict qualifications (such as income, special circumstances, dependents, etc.) I personally have never heard of Texas or Harris County having these (that doesn't mean they don't exist).

If you think you may qualify for grants that are out there, I would ask your Realtor.

hud might be able to help: http://www.hud.gov/ || also found this for you: http://www.houstontx.gov/housing/homebuyer.html

May I briefly hijack since it's a related topic?

This is the definition of a first-time home buy according to HUD:

A first-time homebuyer is an individual who meets any one of the following criteria: