University of Houston Chancellor's Sweet Deal At The University

LarryDallas

http://abclocal.go.com/ktrk/story?section=...&id=6804334

Just some of the notable things:

$425K salary

rent free/bill free living in a $6 million mansion.

$3600 per month cost of maintaining landscaping at mansion.

$50K car for free with driver, free gasoline, and free washes.

$14K a year membership to the Houstonian.

Opera tickets

$500 bed sheets

Large screen HDTVs with pretty much all channels that exist.

Free housekeeping

etc....

I am an 02 grad and back in those days I saw increases in tuition each year as projects that were a total waste of money were being started or completed. Since then, the most major things to have gone up at UH are the parking garage and the fitness/health center which were both a total waste of money and multimillion dollar projects.

Um, that was back when the economy was still growing each year. The times in which we now live call for frugal spending at a PUBLIC school. If this was Rice or St. Thomas they could pay the chancellor more than Alex Rodriguez and that would be fine with me.

It's deplorable that students have to take on debt to pay ever increasing tuition with the excuse for said increases being inflation or expansion of the university for a better experience when much of it is just blatant in your face wasteful spending.

Scroll to the end of the page in the link to see an XLS file on tuition increases from 02-08.

This is DEPLORABLE and I was disgusted by this video. :angry:

I wonder if she'll get dragged through the garbage ala Priscilla Slade?

I doubt it.

For one the broadcast aired the night of the Rockets game and on a Friday night so not as many people saw it. A Monday 10pm time would have been better.

Oh, and all of this is legal because it is in her contract and fully approved by the university/ the board of regents.