Arizona Search & Seizure

IronTiger

http://legaltimes.typepad.com/blt/2009/04/...reme-court.html

http://www.latimes.com/news/nationworld/na...0,6016774.story

The short version of the story is that some students in an Arizona MIDDLE SCHOOL told some administrators that a 13-year-old girl had prescription-strength ibuprofen and they strip-searched her (down to her underwear) and found nothing. The parents weren't even called about it!

Personally, being a high school student, the excuse they gave: "school safety" is a catch-all that is for the most part BS.

What are your thoughts on the matter?

Prescription-strength IBUPROFEN? WTF? How is that in any way an "abusable" drug? "Oh, waaah, man, my knee doesn't hurt anymore! Cooool, dude!"

I'm really glad that I graduated from public school before they suddenly got so weird about normal everyday medicine.

A few things here without arguing the merits of the case...

People, including kids, DO hide contraband in their underwear. They even hide it in body cavities, "ick" factor be damned.

Prescription drug abuse has become nearly an epidemic in the US, both by adults and teens. It is easy to steal a few pills from the parent's bottle, and it is easy to find them on the street. Moreover, people do not even consider driving while under the influence of these drugs illegal if their doctor prescribed them. The fact that they overuse them and have little driving ability while on them does not seem to mean anything. NOTE: It IS illegal to drive under the influence of prescription meds, regardless whether they were legally prescribed.