Early Elvis Memories

brucesw

I received the following email at my blog and thought I would post it here in case any of the older HAIFers have anything to share. Elvis made some early appearances in the Houston area I think.

Dear Bruce,

My name is Fabris G.Luca,42 years old,Italy.I'm an Elvis Presley researcher expecially on the early days.

At the mo all my researches are in relation to a book/CD project for the Elvis fan club network. It's a 3/4 CD 200 pages book about Elvis stay at SUN

records done by Ernst Jorgensen(BMG chief on Elvis music catalogue) which I'm now helping detailing the period from July of 1954 through the end of 1955.

The book will consist of more than 400 early photos - half of them previously unpublished. It's not an attempt of once again write the story of

Elvis Presley, but more a collection of information, photos, memorabilia and stories shared by fans who

where there at the time. The book will not deal in gossip or other unpleasant material,it's all about the innocence of the time and the impact of Elvis'

music.We are trying to document every single show Elvis did, and we have come fairly close.

So I'm looking for photos,recordings from Louisiana Hayride (KWKH program transmitted also by KTHS) or Opry,or any live radio gigor interview ....

ANYTHING IS WELCOME FROM THE 50s!!

Any personal memories?

Your help,anyone's help is welcome!

Write soon

I hope this is not too much of an intrusion.

Sincerely yours

Fabris G.Luca

Elvis Researcher

Ps I'm looking for info also on any DJ working at KWEM West Memphis (I'm corresponding with TB Strenght family already) ansd try to locate a DJ working in New Orleans at WBOK in 1955 by the name of Red Smith and then going to WCKY in Cincinnati Ohio during the 60s....