Sign in to follow this  
Karick42

Comparing West University Place & Southside Place to Dallas' University Park & Highland Park Area

I think there are a lot of great things about both areas but I would like to hear your arguments on this subject. I will post my opinions tomorrow.

Hi,

Some of the more pricey areas in Highland Park tend to remind me more of River Oaks than West U or Southside Place..........

One such example is the larger lot size--Many Estate sized homes in Highland Park have very large lots--even "acreage"--just like some of the high end estate homes in River Oaks area............

You really don't find that too often in West U or Southside Place anymore--I live in West U, but I have only been there since early summer ( We moved down from The Woodlands---too far to drive anymore!!!) so I am not a seasoned expert--although I have spent more time in the Houston area(s) than I did in The "Woods" for the 7+ years that I have spent here in Texas

Not knowing about the general "make-up/mindset" of the population of either Highland Park, or University Park--I will let other, more informed posters handle that.......issue :lol:

Also the schools that serve most of Highland Park and all of University Park are very homogeneous in makeup: http://www.schooldigger.com/go/TX/schools/...357/school.aspx

Meanwhile Lamar High School, which serves West U, has many different socioeconomic and racial groups: http://www.schooldigger.com/go/TX/schools/...512/school.aspx

Pershing Middle: http://www.schooldigger.com/go/TX/schools/...553/school.aspx

Pin Oak Middle: http://www.schooldigger.com/go/TX/schools/...274/school.aspx

West U Elementary: http://www.schooldigger.com/go/TX/schools/...608/school.aspx

Back to post my feelings on the subject.