Moving from the UK

muddy mudguard

My wife (a Texan with family in Houston area) and myself (a Brit) are moving to Houston after having lived in the UK for the last 3yrs together.

We have a 15month old baby boy (currently) and anticipate us moving in June 2009.

Currently I have no job arranged although will certainly try to arrange one before we come (I work in IT Sales for a Software Company) previously worked for BMC (5yrs+) here in the UK.

I'm trying to figure out where to live. My wife is keen on Sugarland but I would also like to explore other suburbs so that we have a 'choice'.

Any suggestions you could give would be appreciated.

Welcome to Houston.

Your question is a common one on this forum, so expect lots of answers. But it'll be a little while because of the hurricane. 75% of the city is still without power and we haven't heard from many of the forum regulars yet.

Keep checking back and I'm sure your question will be answered. But it'll help the HAIFers to know some things:

• What is your price range
  • Does your wife have a job waiting for her, and if she does, what part of the city is it in and how long of a commute can she stand?
  • What things are most important to you in a neighborhood? Location? Schools? Crime? Shopping? Friendliness?
  • Are you looking only for a single-family home, or would you consider a townhouse, apartment, or condo?
  • Is new construction important to you?
  • Does your wife want to be near her family? If so, in what area are they located?

The more detailed you can be, the better answers you will get. But again, you'll need to be a little patient while Houston puts itself back together.

Thanks v much for your response - see my answers to your questions below.

I'm looking forward to becoming an honorary Texan!

Welcome to Houston.