Historic Houston Images

Duce

• 3 weeks later...
If you have photos of these places and/or memorabilia from them, please post.

Shamrock Hotel

Kiddie Wonderland

Peppermint Park

Sea Arama

The Pig

The old baseball stadium where fingers is now (forgot the name)

The Pig, that brings back some memories. Mike, the doorman that used to work out fron was pretty cool.

In regard to pictures, does anyone know where to begin searching for pictures of homes? I am trying to find a pic of the home I grew up in. Built in the 50s and previous owners don't have a clue where to find one either. Would the HCAD have one on file?

Banking214 - I'm new to Houston, so I'm not familiar with these places you've asked for pictures about. Could you take a second and explain what they are/were? Thanks, I appreciate it.

Glen

Actually, not sure if I replied correctly. I was just wondering where I might find a picture of the home I grew up in (long shot, I know). I am sure there has to be a starting place. Someone else posted about trying to find the other mentioned places. I actually have one of Peppermint Park somewhere at my parents house. It was located at 610 North/290 Merge as I recall.

Shamrock Hotel. My grandfather (who was a PR) opened up the Shamrock on opening night with all the greats of their time!! :)

So it kinda has special meaning to me.

"Peppermint place" I only remember an indoor carasouel!

Entrance to Buff Stadium (4000 Harby at Milby):

buffstadiumentrance1928.jpg

Night game at Buff Stadium:

buffstadium1950s.jpg

Overhead view:

buffstadium.jpg

Shamrock Hotel, the most famous building in Houston:

1940sShamrockHotelHouston.jpg

Again:

z35.jpg

Shamrock pool and "lanai":

card14569_fr.jpg

Peppermint Park, that was the indoor amusement park @ 59 and the Beltway right (before the beltway was there).

Man I went there a few times as a kid.  Then it turned into an auto shop.  It is still there, but not what it used to be.