Oil Companies

Hi, my wife and I live in Kentucky currently. I work as a geologist for a coal company, she's an elementary school special education teacher. I'm 31 years old, she's 27. We're thinking about moving to Houston where I'd like to work as a geologist/geophysicist for an oil company. I understand the opportunities are exceptional right now and I've been interested in that type of work since I was in school a couple of years ago. I'm hoping to hear from people who work in the petroleum industry, especially from geoscientists, who can give me some tips for landing a job and finding a good place to live. We'd be interested in a good child-friendly suburb like Sugar Land where the schools have good reputations and the commute is manageable (a relative proposition, I know). Is anyone out there who can offer some advice? I've done plenty of research on the major oil company websites but some insider information would be much appreciated! What is life like for those of you on the "inside"?? Also, can anyone suggest which companies are the most/least desirable to work for and why? Thanks!!

Edited by davev1977
  • Like 1

Best of luck, most are going through major reorganizations and only accepting "contract positions". That could mean working temp any where from 6 months to 5 years. It all depends on the individual. What works for a single man wont work for a couple and add children. Some can handle not having health insurance while some can while working contract. Not to discourage you but thats what has been accuring here with at least 4 major companies I know of and still speak to old coworkers/friends most barely clinging in to what they have. Keep trying you never know. Finally, always prepare yourself for a career change. Garner as much experience while at any major company so you can transition those skills to another career. You can get tons of advice on Yahoo Jobs, etc. Try www.LinkedIn.com you will be glad you did. :)